Desk Snacking

I’ve got to apologize for the lateness of this week’s posts. A soccer injury meant time spent in and out of clinics and a lack of free-time/desire to post anything worth reading. Jack Johnson occupied my evening last night, so here I am, with the week almost done, publishing my first post. Better late than never though, right?

In light of my injury (a gory split toenail – you can be either disappointed or relieved if you were not on the receiving end of that snap), Monday’s Munchies are dedicated to quick eats.

I go through phases with cooking. Sometimes I love it – creating, tasting, and taking the time to prepare healthy meals can be as therapeutic as it is rewarding. Sometimes, I hate it – time-consuming, boring, and a nuisance are the words that go through my mind during these times.

The only thing that’s worse than cooking a meal for immediate consumption is packing a lunch. Unless you score leftovers, it can be difficult and frustrating to come up with unique lunch ideas 5 days a week, every week. Admittedly, I slipped up this week and bought my lunch one afternoon. Sometimes the thought of having a ‘meal’ is just too daunting, for I opt for snacks instead.

When I’m in a pinch these are my go-to choices for a quick and easy lunch snacks to prepare:

–          FRUIT. It’s delicious, particularly refreshing (and fresh as it’s almost in season) during the summer, and healthy. Often a quick rinse is all you have to do to prep it, and few (if any) utensils or containers are required to dig in at your desk.

–          Greek yogurt. Protein goes a long way when you’re trying to make it through the afternoon, and greek yogurt is delicious and very simple to pack and ‘mix up’. I add different kinds of berries, cinnamon, granola, chia seeds, flax seeds, and goji berries.

[ I recently discovered there are a lot of ecological hazards associated with the recent influx in its production. If anyone knows more, please share advice on how to help and/or purchase responsibly! ]

–          Hummus. The ultimate in ‘grab and go’ meal prep. It goes with everything, makes veggies much tastier, and is filling. If you haven’t tried Stacy’s Pita Chips, I recommend getting a bag (or two – of the plain preferably), grabbing your hummus, and having your life changed.

–          Trail mix. My friend is obsessed with trail mix. She slowly converted me and now I keep some at my desk for mid-morning or afternoon cravings. If you’re not allergic, the nuts provide protein and depending on the variety you buy/make, it can be the perfect fix for a sweet tooth or the salt-seeker.

Snacks make the best lunches. Plus, it means you get to dine all day.

Leave a Reply

