Grilled Veggie Sandwich

Happy 2014! January means back to school, back to the gym, and back to healthy eating after plenty of Christmas feasting.

As I restocked my fridge at school I decided I wanted to try to recreate the delicious grilled veggie & goat cheese sandwich from Williams Cafe. After a few tries I’ve almost perfected it and thought I’d share this quick and filling vegetarian meal idea.

I used zucchini, red bell pepper, portobello mushroom, and baby onions (I’m trying them out after wasting far too many half-used-full-onions).

DSC_0252

Cut into even (thin) slices to ensure uniform cooking and equal cooking time.

DSC_0256

Coat with balsamic vinegar, olive oil, rosemary and garlic.

DSC_0260

Preheat grill pan to medium-low heat.

DSC_0262

Get the slow-cooking veggies on first. I prefer my onions really cooked down so I added those and the bell peppers a good 5 minutes before the rest.

DSC_0266

Add the rest of the veggies.

DSC_0270

Flip as needed.

DSC_0272

But not too frequently if you want those really pretty grill marks to show.

DSC_0274

Make some room for your bread.

DSC_0276

Warm it up.

DSC_0278

Spread a generous amount of goat cheese on the side while the other half warms.

DSC_0281

Stack it up.

DSC_0282

Gobble it down.

DSC_0284

Prep Time: 5 min

Cook Time: 10-15 min (depending on veggies used and how tender you prefer them)

Clean Up: 5 min

Key Learnings:

– The bell peppers really require more time than the rest of the veggies (more than I initially anticipated) let them do their thing before adding the rest.

– The portobello mushrooms can be deceiving, especially if marinated in balsamic vinegar. Add an extra slice for nibbling to see if they’re done.

– Medium-low heat worked better than medium-high for me. I started at 4 on the dial and gradually worked up to 5. I found when I started at 5/6 the grill marks charred the veggies long before they had cooked through. An extra 5 minutes does wonders for flavour and texture!

– The great thing about this recipe is that it’s quick, easy, filling, and a solid lunch or dinner option, especially with a glass of milk. Clean up is also a breeze since all that is involved to cook is one knife, one cutting board, and one grill pan.

– Choose a lovely bread for this sandwich, it goes a long way.

– Another bonus is how customizable it is. I ran out of goat cheese and used feta, I didn’t have zucchini so I used eggplant. Experiment and find your favourite combinations.

Hope your new year is off to a delicious start!

2 thoughts on “Grilled Veggie Sandwich

Leave a Reply

