Solo Living

This term has been my first experience living alone. After sharing a bungalow with 6 girls for 2 years, my apartment is my private oasis – no one jacking my boiled kettle, no guilt if I leave a mess.

 tumblr_mxg9bqMeBp1rkpfcgo7_250

Despite loving the experience overall, it’s been super tough this exam season. With an MA it’s not so much an “exam” period as it is a “writing” period, and these processes are very different. I can reasonably have an essay sorted out with a few hours of work in 2-3 days, but my friends finishing their undergrad and writing exams are studying around the clock. I thrive on procrastination and doing random things at obscene hours (i.e. WalMart trip at 3 a.m. for extra bobby pins to perfect that up-do I’m about to take out and go to sleep on). My schedule is completely flipped around (LOL what’s a “morning”?) and I spend stupid amounts of time reading BuzzFeed lists.

tumblr_mxnxs7eVuH1rf3vv2o1_500

THESE THINGS ARE WAY LESS FUN WHEN YOU DON’T HAVE LIVE-IN FRIENDS TO DO THEM WITH.

I’m basically an island, got my work done way too efficiently (without nearly as many laughs), and have made more phone calls in the past week than I have in the last 5 years. Let this be a lesson to all: hire some roomies for the exam/paper session. Luckily my essays are done (editing doesn’t count, right?) so LET THE HOLIDAYS COMMENCE.

For those still slugging away:

tumblr_mxm87aRX5h1ru5h8co1_500

 

Leave a Reply

