Giving Thanks

It may not be the Canadian Thanksgiving this weekend, although we’re certainly reminded of that fact daily with the constant Black Friday ads/emails/signs. Still, it’s as good a time as any to reflect on what we have and, more importantly, who we have in our lives.

  IMAG1552

Counting your blessings may seem cliche but it is a truly effective way to stay positive and enjoy your life and yourself. If you’re reading this you’re fortunate enough to be a literate person  who has internet access. Boom, you’re one of the luckiest people in the world and already have so much to be grateful for.

IMAG1827

This week I was lucky enough to spend some time at home. I got to see so many people who I love and who love me. “My people” who I’ve known forever, I can tell anything to, and who always make me laugh. It’s amazing how certain people can just rejuvenate you, make you feel understood, and help you locate your center. As Christmas approaches I’m looking forward to reconnecting, eating, laughing, and spending quality time with all the people in my life who mean so much to me. After weeks of stress, adjusting to the weather, and feeling like I’m ‘on a treadmill’, I can’t wait to slow things down and spend a few chilly weeks relaxing with my loved ones as we all enjoy so much-needed time off.

IMAG0870

Tuesday was also my four year anniversary with my boyfriend. He’s really an amazing person who is so loving, honest, and caring. I don’t know how he does it, but he’s put up with me this long and I’m truly grateful to have such a supporting, funny (but don’t tell him that), and understanding friend as my other half.

IMAG2269

It’s been a really great week, and although the work is piling up, I know I have so much to be grateful for and feel so lucky to have the opportunity to stress about formulating ideas, writing papers and meeting deadlines. It may not seem like it while you’re doing it, but it’s a real blessing that a lot of people wish for.

IMAG1569 IMAG1813

Take a few minutes to reflect on the people in your circle and appreciate what you have. Sometimes it can feel like there isn’t much to smile about, but that just means that you haven’t been taking the time to recognize it.

Added bonus: One of my best friends got a new kitten so I got to play with the amazing little guy for a few hours!

 

Leave a Reply

