Spanish Rice/Quinoa

With Thanksgiving being a meat-centered holiday I decided to bring my own dish to the feast, just in case the other vegetarian options weren’t enough to satisfy my hunger!

2013-10-14_1381786757

[ One of 3 feasts I was lucky enough to attend. ]

I ended up bringing a more tame version of one of my favourite weeknight meals (once again influenced by my old chef roomie):

Spanish rice (or in this case, quinoa)!

2013-10-14_1381786825

While the version I brought to Thanksgiving and a potluck earlier during the week was not Spanish (instead it was dressed with balsamic vinegar and olive oil and featured a wider variety of veggies) this spicy version has quickly become one of my favourites.

Equally tasty with rice or quinoa as a base, the dish is served warm with beans (black or red kidney are my favourite), bell peppers, onion, and tomato. The seasoning is a combination of brown sugar, garlic power, and generous amounts of cumin, chili powder, cayenne, and paprika.

I don’t really measure – I just mix it with a fork in a small bowl and add more paprika/cumin/chili powder depending on my mood or how the colour looks once I’ve mixed it with my grain of choice!

2013-10-14_1381786886

After sweating the onions add the grain and beans, season, then add the veggies and stir fry/sauté for 5 minutes on medium-low heat.

Delicious and satisfying, it’s a great way to mix up my usual cold quinoa salad dinner as the weather starts to get cooler and is a carnivore-pleasing dish (even if they’ll only accept it as a side)!

Hope everyone is enjoying their long weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

