Song of the Summer

There were a lot of hype songs this summer, most of which were played daily during my four months off. As a result, I now have no desire to listen to them.

I probably heard this one daily on my commute but I’m still not sick of it. For that reason, Bastille’s “Pompeii” is my pick for the song of summer 2013.

Disclaimer: I didn’t watch the video, so I apologize if it’s corny & makes you dislike the song.

I just love his British intonation, unique voice, and the random/hilarious inspiration to write a song about Pompeii (for those of you who skipped history class). And, duh, the chanting.

HEY HEY HO AY OH

This amazing live version solidifies Bastille as a band to watch. Headed by Dan Smith, there’s some serious talent in this group. Once I have time this week is a write off I’m definitely going to check out more from their album, Bad Blood.

I also heard a sweet EDM remix of it at a restaurant but am having trouble finding a good one. But it’s out there so look into it if you’re into that sort of thing – and feel free to share if you find it!

If you close your eyes does it almost feel like nothing changed at all?

One thought on “Song of the Summer

Leave a Reply

