5 Songs the Radio Beat to Death with a Stick

stopbadmusic

You know every single word. You frantically click the radio presets in hopes of escaping it. IT’S ON EVERY STATION.

The all-encompassing, never-ending, mind-numbing, replayed hit song.

Here’s my list of the 5 Most Used and Abused Hit Songs in the past year.

I didn’t bother posting links because you already know them. And if you don’t, no need to Google, just turn on the FM dial.

5.1 TIE: Macklemore ft. Ryan Lewis – Thrift Shop

A sad pick rounds out the top five (okay six), because I really liked this song before I had to hear it every 10 minutes. The cute kid laughing, the viciously catchy sax, chirping $50 t-shirts… how could you not?

Still not clear on who Ryan Lewis is. If anyone knows, please advise.

5.2 TIE: Rihanna ft. Mikky Ekko – Stay

It pains me to put this here because I love this song. Yet, I know it has earned its place on this list. This is actually a great ballad but it is definitely playing on any given radio station right now.

I will still sing along (with only the smallest bit of shame).

4. Icona Pop – I Love It

Despite its battered and bloody state, and the fact that it sounds way less appealing when they edit out “bitch,” this song still holds a special place in my heart. I first heard it on an episode of Girls, and after that my roommates and I took it on as a pre-drink anthem. Hearing it at 4:00 pm on the way to the dentist just isn’t the same. Hearing it at 1:00, 2:00, 2:30, and 3:00 pm makes me wonder what we were thinking putting it on the playlist.

3. Maroon 5 – Payphone

I know everyone thinks Adam Levine is God’s gift to women but the man, straight up, sounds like Elmo. All of the channel-changes I spent on you, Adam! Not to mention (I’m sure this joke, like the list, has been beaten to death) where the hell is he that he found and is using a payphone?

2. fun. ft. Janelle Monae – We Are Young

This song bothered me from the second time I heard it because the opening lines are about beating his girlfriend. Yes, they are. And yes, anyone I point that out to is shocked – even though we’ve all heard the song 192839084237 times and could probably sing every word. I still hear it played regularly even though it was released ages ago.

To save you looking up the lyrics:

“My seat’s been taken by some sunglasses, asking ’bout a scar and,

I know I gave it to you months ago. I know you’re trying to forget.

But between the drinks and subtle things,

the holes in my apologies, you know,

I’m trying hard to take it back.”

HA, they spell their band name with a period at the end. Lena Dunham needs to run.

1. Gotye – Somebody That I Used to Know

Don’t act surprised. And if you genuinely are, you must exclusively listen to your iPod in the car. This song was particularly annoying because it spans most genres. THERE WAS NO ESCAPE. This song was not only killed, its carcass got dragged through the streets for weeks. It got so bad that I heard Gotye (he? Is it just the one painted dude?) refuses to play it in concert.

I feel you, man. But seriously, that goddamn song is the only reason anyone came.

What songs did I miss? Has your favourite song been ruined by radio replay too?

(Prediction: Blurred Lines and Get Lucky are next.)

One thought on “5 Songs the Radio Beat to Death with a Stick

Leave a Reply

